Combined events and relay fields announced for IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018

Featured Combined events and relay fields announced for IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018

Today marks one week to go before the focus of the athletics world shifts firmly to the IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018.

615 athletes from 146 teams have been entered for the 18th edition of the IAAF World Indoor Championships which gets underway on 1 March, hosted for the second time by the United Kingdom's second largest city.

Combined events fields announced

Always among the most popular events on the programme are the combined events, the two-day heptathlon for the men and gruelling one-day pentathlon for the women. Both kick off the action on Friday (2) morning with the women’s champion to be crowned later that evening.

On the men’s side, the focus will fall on Kevin Mayer of France, the 2017 world champion in the decathlon. In the women’s competition, the spotlight will shine on Great Britain’s Katarina Johnson-Thompson, the European champion in the event in 2015. At those continental championships three years ago, Johnson-Thompson tallied 5000 points, the second highest score in history, just 13 points shy of the world record.

Invitations for the combined events were based on the 2017 IAAF Combined Events Challenge, on the 2017 outdoor world season lists and this year’s indoor world season lists with the option to include one additional wild card entry.

The heptathlon field:
Kevin Mayer, FRA
Damian Warner, CAN
Lindon Victory, GRN
Eelco Sintnicolaas, NED
Kai Kazmirek, GER
Zachery Ziemek, USA
Maicel Uibo, EST
Jan Dolezal, CZE
Oleksiy Kasyanov, UKR
Ruben Gado, FRA
Kurt Felix, GRN
Dominique Distelberger, AUT
The pentathlon field:
Katarina Johnson-Thompson, GBR
Yorgelis Rodriguez, CUB
Kendell Williams, USA
Ivona Dadic, AUT
Elisa Klucina, CZE
Xenia Krizsan, HUN
Erica Bougard, USA
Alina Shukh, UKR
Katerina Cachova, CZE
Ida Antoinette Nana Djimou, FRA
Caroline Agnou, SUI
Lecabela Quaresma, POR

4x400m relay squads

Entries for the 4x400m relay have also been finalised. The United States is the defending champion in both the men's and women's races. The Trinidad and Tobago men's squad, the winner's at last summer's IAAF World Championships in London, are also entered.

The men's field:
Czech Republic
Dominican Republic
Great Britain & Northern Ireland
Trinidad & Tobago
United States
The women's field:
Czech Republic
Great Britain & Northern Ireland
United States

Leave a comment