Gonzalez and Díaz win third crown in a row at Varadero

VARADERO, Cuba, July 17, 2017 – Home crowd favorites Sergio Gonzalez and Nivaldo Diaz did not disappoint the local fans as local pair responded with a 2-0 (21-18, 24-22) victory over Jeremy Casebeer and John Mayer of United States to grab the gold medal at the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament, the fourth stop of the NORCECA Circuit on Sunday.

It was the third consecutive crown for the tandem of Nivaldo and Sergio in Varadero – and ninth overall- to go along with a silver medal in 2014.

The Rio Olympics fifth placed Gonzalez and Diaz advanced to the title match after a 2-0 (21-18, 21-14) victory over compatriots Luis Reyes and José Luis Aguilera while Casebeer and Mayer defeated Canadians Fiodar Kazhamiaka and Sergey Gravobsky 2-0 (21-18, 21-18).

Reyes and Aguilera then engaged in a grueling battle with Kazhamiaka and Grabovsky eventually winning in three sets 2-1 (21-17, 19-21, 16-14) for the bronze medal.

Nivaldo, who played the whole tournament while nursing an injured right hand said: “I thought the match was going to be less complicated but after a few days without being able to attack well I kind of lost my sync and it made the match longer.”

Meanwhile Sergio highlighted the importance of keeping the dominance at home and for 200 points to help their world ranking.

“It was really good to continue winning in our place and it was good to get the 200 points that helps our position in the world ranking. Both teams made many mistakes, but we were able to overcome that and get the win. We are happy about giving our country another triumph.”

  • Published in Sports

Big duel between Cubans men predicted for Varadero

VARADERO, Cuba, July 11, 2017 – A big duel among Cuban teams is being anticipated when the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament, the fourth stop of the 2017 NORCECA Circuit gets underway next Friday.

Olympians Nivaldo Díaz and Sergio González, winners of the past two editions of the event and quarterfinalists in Rio, are expected to be challenged by compatriots Karell Peña and Daisel Quesada who have dominated the first three competitions of the year in La Paz, México, Cayman Islands and Ocho Ríos, Jamaica.

The women’s event features the presence of this year’s winning teams with Cubans Leila Martínez and Lidiannis Echevarría, who triumphed in La Paz and Cayman Islands, and Canadians Jamie Broder and Sophie Bukovec who are fresh from collecting the gold in Jamaica.

Sixteen women’s teams and fourteen men’s teams are registered to compete in Cuba.

2017 Winners

La Paz, Mexico

CUB Karell Peña/Daisel Quesada (M)

CUB Lianma Flores-Lidiannis Echeverría (W)


Cayman Islands

CUB Karell Peña/Daisel Quesada (M)

CUB Lianma Flores-Lidiannis Echeverría (W)


Ocho Rios, Jamaica

CUB Daisel Quesada/Karell Peña (M)

CAN Jamie Broder/Sophie Bukovec (W)


Women’s Teams

Canada-A (Jamie Broder/Sophie Bukovec), Canada-B (Megan Nagy/Marie Christine Lapointe), Costa Rica (Yulianna González/Natalia Alfaro), Cuba-A (Leila Martinez/Lidiannis Echeverria), Cuba-B (Lianma Flores/Yanisleidis Sánchez), Cuba-C (Mailin Deliz/Arlin Hechavarría), Guadeloupe (Fanny Katarzayski/Stephanie Rousell), Guatemala (Natalia Girón/Estephanie Bethancourt), Mexico-A (Stephanie Burnside/Paulette Cruz), Mexico-B (Silvia Hendrick/Estefanía Ibarra), Nicaragua (Swan Mendoza/Lolette Rodríguez), St Kitts & Nevis (Brenda Allen/Genelle Howell), United States-A (Jace Pardon/Lara Dykstra), United States-B (Karissa Cook/Katherine Spieler), U.S. Virgin Islands-A (Amber Bennett/Manika Charles), U.S. Virgin Islands-B (Melanie Valenciana/Katherine Wanket).

Men’s Teams

Canada-A (Fiodar Kazhamiaka/Sergey Grabovsky), Canada-A (Hugo Bonneau/Simon Fecteau Boutin), Costa Rica (Andrés Quintero/Esteban Escobar), Cuba-A (Sergio González/Nivaldo Díaz), Cuba-B (Karell Peña/Daisel Quesada), Cuba-C (Luis Reyes/José Luis Aguilera), Cuba-D (Daniel Durá/Hermes Quevedo), Dominican Republic (Víctor Castillo/William Sánchez), Guatemala (Andy Leonardo/Luis García), Nicaragua (Rubén Romero/Dany López), St Kitts & Nevis-A (St Clair Hodge/Rohan Jeffers), St Kitts & Nevis-B (Joshua Dwarkasing/David Pinas), United States-A (Jon Mesko/Skylar Del Solar), United States-B (John Mayer/Jeremy Casebeer).

  • Published in Sports

Cuban beach volleyball pairs win tournament in Mexico

Cuban pairs of Karell Peña - Daisel Quesada and Leila Martínez - Lidianis Echeverría won La Paz Beach Volleyball Tournament in the Mexican state of Baja California.

Peña-Quesada, the unbeaten leader of Group C, with three wins, defeated Sunday in the final 2-1 Lombardo Ontiveros and Juan Virgen, Mexico B, with scores of 21-13, 17-21 and 15-8.

Meanwhile Martínez-Echeverría, undefeated in Group A, also with three wins, beat 2-1 (21-19, 19-21 and 15-13) Heather Bansley and Brandie Wilkerson, from Canada.

According to the NORCECA website, Peña and Quesada won 2-0 in the semi-finals over Jon Mesko and Skymar del Sol (21-13 and 21-11), if the United States A team, while Martinez and Echeverria beat Betsi 2-0 Flint and Kelly Larsen (21-17 and 21-17), also from United States A.

The bronze medal for the men went to Jose Rubio and Josue Gaxiola of Mexico A, defeating Mesko and Del Sol 2-1 (21-18, 17-21 and 15-8).

The winning duos (m and f) garnered 200 points for the NORCECA ranking, while the second, third and fourth places received 160, 120 and 100, respectively.


  • Published in Sports
Subscribe to this RSS feed